Stichting Geuzenverzet 1940-1945





Press info

History      Geuzen Monument      Commemoration      Geuzen Medal      Geuzenpenning Foundation     

Since 1987 the Geuzenpenning Foundation (Stichting Geuzenpenning) has awarded a Geuzen Medal every year as a tribute to individuals or institutions that have, in some special way, devoted themselves to fighting for democracy or against dictatorship, discrimination and racism.

he Geuzen Medal is a tribute and expression of support.

2017Alice Nkom and Michel Togué
2015Free Press Unlimited
2014Thomas Hammarberg
2013Radhia Nasraoui
2012Gregory Shvedov
2011Sima Samar en de Nederlandse krijgsmacht
2010Betty Bigombe
2009Al-Haq and B'Tselem
2008Martti Ahtisaari
2007Human Rights Watch
2006Haitham Maleh
2005International Campaign for Tibet
2004Ingrid Betancourt Pulecio
2003Defence for Children International (DCI)
2002Asma Jahangir, Pakistani lawyer and women’s rights advocate
2001European Roma Rights Centre and National Sinti Organisation
2000Nataša Kandi, Veton Surroi
1999Insan Haklari Derneđgi (IHD), Turkish human rights organisation
1998Vera Chirwa, Noel Pearson, Muchtar Pakpahan, Rosalina Tuyuc Velásquez, Sergei Kovalyov
1997Mothers of the Plaza de Mayo (Madres de Plaza de Mayo)
1996Harry Wu, Chinese freedom fighter and dissident
1995Václav Havel, President of the Czech Republic
1994Doctors Without Borders Netherlands
1993Max van der Stoel, UN Special Rapporteur on Iraq and Europe’s High Commissioner for National Minorities
1992Anne Frank Foundation
1991Bernard IJzerdraat, resistance fighter (posthumous) and László Tökés, Romanian bishop
1990Richard von Weizsäcker, President of the Federal Republic of Germany
1989February 1941 Foundation
1988HM Queen Wilhelmina of the Netherlands (posthumous)
1987Amnesty International Netherlands
      Stichting Geuzenverzet